Sofia fra Portugal (54036) Ankomst i september, oktober

Tourism | Year of birth: 2000 | Arrival date: 01.10 - 15.10.18 | Length of stay: 3 months

Experience: 

I’ve been working at a coffee house in downtown Porto. The location of the coffee house attracts a big crowd of tourists as clients, and that has given me the perfect opportunity to practise my English and raise my professional growth. I’ve been having a lot of fun, I get to know new people and hear about their travels and also cook, which is something I love. Beside this, through out this past year I’ve been doing some volunteering job, every week I help to distribute food, which I think that gave me the ability to work better in team and keeping a group organized. It gave me a different view of the place where I live and I think it has been one of my favourite experiences so far.

Motivation:

From the moment, I have made the decision to take a gap year, Norway immediately called my attention for many different reasons. On one hand, it is a developed western country where most of the people speaks English, which makes it a lot easier for me to step out of my comfort zone. On the other hand, despite its’ similarities, it is equally a very different country from Portugal and has a very different culture from the countries in southern Europe, which I am very familiar with. I love travel and I have many friends from Finland, a country that I’ve visited in the past and where I stayed in a local house making me very close to the Scandinavian culture. That extra incentive made me want to know even more about their culture. My adventurer side is always calling for me. I love snow and always dreamed to live surrounded by it. I want to enjoy the wonderful landscapes scattered all over Norway, feel close to nature, which is something that I love, and also something that gives me the perfect opportunity to practice my photography.

Personal qualities:

A very extrovert person, does not have a problem communicating or meeting new people, very social and can easily adapt to different situations. Very open-minded, likes to try new things, being creative and using sense of humour. She is responsible, punctual, mature, a problem solver, a teamworker, has good troubleshooting skills, is independent and confident.

Additional information:

Smokes: No
Vegetarian: No
Driver’s Licence: No
Would accept to stay with other WG: Yes
Would accept to stay with single man: No
Would accept to stay with single woman: No
English level: Advanced