Cristel B. from the Netherlands (54439)

Born: 1999 | Start date: September | Length of stay: 8-10 months | Preferred area: No preference | Driving license: Yes | Age group: 0-8

Experience:

I have had some small babysit jobs. Those where mostly in the evening and included cooking, and bed time. sometimes I picked up the children from school and we would play together (age 3-11).

I’m also a scouting leader for 4/5 years now, Every Saturday I and the other leaders, organize an entertaining / learning program. We have camps where we are a whole weekend away with the children that means we do the whole day program. (age 5-7)

For my internship I have 800 + hours of experience with children with a mental/ visible disability, autism and different syndromes. None of the children can talk so we use sign language and pecs. Their developmental age is 0-1,5. so we do activities to stimulate their development. We feed them, some of them we give bread, others can’t chew so we bottle feed them. Because they are so little they have nap time. We have many opportunities in the building, like a swimming pool, every week I go swimming with the children. We shower them, dress them, change their nappies and help them. The dayprogram is like daycare/preschool ( real age 0-6, developmental age 0-1,5).

Motivation:

I love working with children, It makes me happy. And the combination of learning about a new culture a discovering my favorite country seems like a mission happiness to me.

I think this adventure will make me more independent.

Hobbies:

What I love to do in my free time is scouting. 13 years ago I joined the local scouting group. I love being outdoors and helping others. Not only am I a member myself I’m also a scouting leader for 4 years now. The children’s are age 5-7. The thing I like the most about my work and hobby is organizing activities and camps. I like keeping the overview. I also love being around children and making them happy. Nothing makes me more happy then seeing a happy child who I helped. I absolutely love being outdoors and hiking. Which is a good combination with scouting.

My other interests is photography, music, reading and traveling.

Additional information:
Smokes: No
Dietary restrictions: None
Would stay with single mother: No
Would stay with single dad: No
English level: Good