Maresa from Germany (53091)

Born: 1998 | Start date: September| Length of stay: 12 months | Preferred area: No preference | Driving license: Yes | Age group: Between 2 and 12 years old

Maresa 53091Experience:

My first experience with children was four years ago, when I did a three-week work experience at a local kindergarten. I was in a group with about fifteen children, who were between three to six years old. My main tasks were to play with the kids, read to them and look after them while they were playing outside. Back then, I realized how much I love to spend time with children. A few years later, I babysitted a toddler of about 1 1/2 years for a few months. Feeding, changing nappys and playing with the boy was part of my job. Since 2014 I am helping children from my school, who are between ten and fourteen years old, with their homework. Additional, I tutor a 11 year old girl once a week in English and French.

Motivation:

As long as I can remember, spending a year abroad after finishing school has always been a dream of mine. After I ‘discovered’ Norway through a Norwegian series, I finally knew where I wanted to go. Falling in love with the language, the nature and the culture, my decision was final – I wanted to go to Norway. This dream paired with my fondness of children then lead me to where I am now. I hope that my stay in Norway will make me grow as a person and will be a life-changing experience. My goals are to speak Norwegian fluently after my stay, to learn as much about the Norwegian culture as I can, to meet new people and see as much of Norway’s beautiful nature as possible.

Hobbies:

Music, Swimming and Writing. Those three words describe me and my free time activities best. I have played the guitar for about four years now, which includes singing and writing my own songs. Writing in general is a big passion of mine, I wrote my first ‘book’ when I was nine and continued the following years writing lots of poems for my family and other fantasy books. Right now I am working on an English story. I also like to read, my favorite books are the Harry Potter series. Once a week, I go swimming in a club which I have been a member of since 2011. I love to be outside, which is why I go jogging or inline skating every week as well. On weekends, I like to spend time with my friends, my family and my cat.

Additional information: 

Smokes: No

Dietary restrictions: Vegetarian, but open to prepare meat

Would stay with single mother: Yes

Would stay with single dad: No

English level: Intermediate