Jule from Germany (53153)

Born: 1999 | Start date: September-October | Length of stay: 6-7 months | Preferred area: Big city, town, suburb | Driving license: In progress | Age group: 3-8 years old

Experience:

In school I voluntarily helped teaching refugee kids math. I did that once a week in my free time for one hour. I always had to supervise up to 4 kids, whom I then helped solving their tasks and explaining new methods. Although it was not always easy because of the language barrier I think we made very good process and seeing the kids get better was what made this worthile. I did this for almost one year, until a few months before my graduation where I had to start focusing on my studies. Other than that I did an Internship at my local Kindergarten for a week in my Summer Holidays. Although it was only one week it gave me a good impression on what it is like to work with kids. I played with them, prepared their meals, supervised them during lunch and helped them in the bathroom. In this short time I already learned to love these kids and I was always happy to go there. Additionally I sometimes babysit a friend’s daughter in the evening, but not on a regular basis.

Motivation:

My Motivation to become an Aupair was probably, that I have always been getting along with children very well. Already when I was a kid myself I looked after my little brother and his friends. I loved imagining some game for them to play and even though I was young myself I always felt responsible. Working in the refugee class and in Kindergarten then gave me the certainity that doing an Aupair is the right thing for me to do. But not only working with kids was what made me so interested in this job. I was always the type of person who likes travelling, visiting other countries, getting to know a new culture and just spending time somewhere different from what you are used to. That’s why I already went abroad once when I was 15. I spent 6 months in New Zealand going to school there. So I would say that I am a pretty open-minded person and I can not wait to come to Norway and experience the country, the culture and of course the people.

Hobbies: 

In my freetime I like spending time with my friends and my boyfriend. I am always up for new activities and to be honest I am barely home.
My Hobby is Kickboxing, which I do twice a week for almost a year now. I like the feeling of being in control of the situation and to really focus on your body and your movement. Therefore I would like to keep Kickboxing in Norway. In addition to Kickboxing I go to the gym once a week.

Additional information: 

Smokes: No

Dietary restrictions: No

Would stay with single mother: Yes

Would stay with single dad: Yes

English level: Intermediate