Irene from The Netherlands (53145)

Born: 1994 | Start date: August | Length of stay: 6-8 months | Preferred area: No preferences | Driving license: Yes | Age group: 4+ (She was elected au pair of the year in the UK in 2014)

IreneExperience:
I have been an au pair in 2014 (BAPAA international au pair of the year 2014) for 3 children of the age of 6,8 and 9. Since secondary school I have looked after children. One boy of 6-10-year-old in the evenings, one girl of 5-10-year-old after school one day a week, and three children of 1,2 and 3-years-old one evening in the week. When I was an au pair I have also looked after 2 children of 6 months and 3 year for 6 months while my au pair kids where at school for 4 days a week. At the moment I look after 3 children of 7,9 and 10 for 2 days in the week.
Motivation:
I have had such a great time when I was an au pair in England and I really enjoy spending time with children. I have finished my Bachelor and I just want to have a gap year before I start with my Masters. I think being an au pair is the best way to fill in this gap year. I love the way that you become a small part of the family and that you get to learn the culture and language by being there for the children. Why I want to be an au pair in Norway is because I have been there a few times while on holiday and I like the country, the people, nature and language and I simply want to know more about Norway.
Hobbies:
When I was younger I did like horse riding a lot. I have also danced for a few years. When I have holiday I like to read books. Since I do not have time for it anymore this kind of disappeared to the background. Now I try to make the best out of my student life and join a student society and spent a lot of time with my friends over here. I love different cultures and would love to travel the whole world to see the nature and culture of each country.

 

Additional information: 

Smokes: No

Dietary restrictions: Vegetarian, but I don’t mind to prepare meat

Would stay with single mother: Yes

Would stay with single dad: Yes

English level: Good